My Plan for learning React in 2023!

I have already started this year 2023 by learning a new technology, and yes it is REACT! I spend quite a lot of time learning and building some basic projects in Javascript and learned about different DOM Properties and some advanced stuff too.

I decided to move forward with learning React as a Javascript library so I could build Dynamic WebApps with different components too. I am very excited about the journey, but without a proper plan and roadmap, learning something is a waste of time (in my opinion).

So I made a plan for the same and thought why not share it with my audience too, therefore here we are!

A rough blueprint

Before moving forward with building awesome apps and projects with React, I want to share a blueprint of what I have thought will work for me, remember, what works for me, might not work for you but it will give you a good idea of where to begin.

I recommend you to go through some specific concepts in Javascript that are used a hell lot of times in React, some examples are:

  1. Array methods (map, reduce, filter)

  2. this keyword

  3. objects and accessing object properties

  4. arrow functions

  5. error handling

  6. promises

  7. Async/Await

These are some concepts that I think you need to understand well enough so that you don't get confused about what code you are writing in React and it's working.

The Exact Plan

Let's come to the most important part of the blog, my exact plan to learn React and upskill as a developer in 2023. These are some steps that I will follow, it will give you basic clarity of what and how to work on:

Step 1:

Learn the Basics of React and why is it used. Understanding the fundamentals of a library, why we use it, and what advantages React provides over other libraries. All these questions and their answers should be cleared as soon as possible.

I am currently in this very stage where I am trying to figure out the basics of how React works, and what are the different concepts used (props, states, components, conditional rendering, etc).

Step 2:

Build some mini projects and one mega project which uses all the concepts. For this step to work, you need to build some small projects which are not to be included in your resume! but they still play a huge role in achieving a clear understanding of the concepts in React.

Example: You can build a mini project where you pass some props to components and make the use of map method + spread operator. This way, your understanding of React fundamentals will keep on increasing.

Alongside this, you should be working on 1 mega project that uses all of these concepts altogether, I am currently working on one, which I will share in some future blogs ;).

Step 3:

Keep building and learning. Honestly, after I have understood the basics of React, I will look forward to only 1 thing, which is building new things along the way. As developers, we don't ever stop learning, right? We cannot learn anything to its 100%, but we sure can keep it going along the way.

This is the plan, it is simple, but not easy. There will come a time in the future when I will not be able to stay consistent, I will lose track and slip off a bit, but that is a part of the process.

If you are looking forward to get going together in learning React, drop a hi in the comments below, so I know!

Conclusion

This was it for the blog, I have tried to keep the plan as simple as I can while including the major points which will reap some fruits. I will not give up on practicing Javascript and building projects with it, occasional revision of important concepts is mandatory too!

Let's meet the next Sunday, at 9:30 am, bye-bye!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Atharva Hinge by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!